home is where the heart is

In a world full of  sadness is it possible to find true happiness ? In a world full of grief and loss is it possible to find hope and contentment ? The fear of losing those I love scares me every day. Will I survive the loss ? Will I cope ? I find that worrying about the what ifs makes me forget the joys that life can hold that are right in front of my eyes.

I feel as though I’m looking for something but I don’t know what it is and won’t know until I’ve found it. Am I searching for happiness that hard that it’s already there, right in front of me ? I often wonder if I would be happier if I lived near the ocean, or the mountains ? Would I be happier if I lived on the beach or in a log cabin near a lake ? But I know that no matter where I go my fears and worries will travel with me. The grass isn’t always greener on the other side and it’s important to  realize that.

What I do know is that I can sit and watch a great film with my daughter. I can read a book and enjoy a good story. I can hear and move to a good song that I like. I can pick up the phone and talk to all the people who matter to me. But if I keep searching for more and more I’m likely to miss what’s important that’s right in front of me. I think I’ll always long for more but I can take those I love with me. I can travel to the mountains or the ocean. I can sit by a lake and enjoy the sun on my face. Home is where the heart is and my heart is with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

