acceptance and understanding

Some of the most difficult things to gain while suffering depression is acceptance and understanding. I get sick of being told to think positive, smile or cheer up. Another saying I often her is , ” cheer up, it may never happen ” ! Erm , ok. What exactly is it that is meant to be happening ? What does that stupid saying even mean? Grrrrrr infuriating ! And how many people get sick of being told that ” I know exactly how you feel ” ?It’s amazing how understanding people can be when it suits them. I for one am fed up of being made to feel ashamed by these ” understanding ” people. We all have our demons and we all have our hearts breaks but, people handle and cope with things in their own unique way and there’s nothing wrong with that.  I really hate it when people feel sorry for me and I hate sympathy. In fact most do. So instead of false sympathy how about genuine understanding.

I will admit though that mental health issues are damn hard to deal with. And for those who love and care for you often get the brunt of low moods and manic behaviour. For me I really believe to win the battle with any kind of mental health issue it needs to be dealt with as a family because it doesn’t just affect the sufferer.

Leave a Reply

