bah, humbug!!!

As you can guess from my title I’m not a fan of Christmas. In fact I hate it. If I had my way I’d get rid of it, I’d abolish Christmas. It’s not the happy time for everyone. And it’s everywhere ! In schools children are told that if they are bad Santa won’t visit them. So what if they are being abused and neglected ? Being beaten and starved ? Does that mean these children believe they are bad and to blame for their own abuse ? It seems so cruel to me. In my opinion Christmas shouldn’t be such a big thing in schools. And I think about all the elderly Sat on their own. We should be good to each other all year long not just Christmas but for so many the loneliness pinches even harder over the festive season. It’s hard to be alone at Christmas. It’s hard to be abused at Christmas. For some waking up to a smack is the norm.

I’m not saying that I don’t get caught up in the build up because sometimes I do. All the lights, music and Christmas treats carries me away sometimes but the actual day is shit. The John Lewis advert also gets me down. I feel so lonely as it is now so ads like that scare me because the fear of even worse isolation in the future makes me cry. I know people won’t want to read this but it’s how I feel and I won’t apologize for it. I hate Christmas, it’s a shit time for a lot of people. I hate the thought of other people feeling like this and I hate the thought of people being alone or suffering. If I could I would hug, feed, gift and just be there for all those alone or being abused at this or any other time of the year.

The good thing now with social media is that people can be seen and heard. There’s always a hell of a lot of people out there that want to help and that restores my faith in human decency. The old can have company on Christmas day now but, what about the children ? Spare a thought for others at this time. Your kindness can change a person’s life for the better.

Leave a Reply

